Banana Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins

 

304

Today I was in that situation where I had three overripe bananas staring at me. I had to use them or toss them. I wanted to make banana bread, but I didn’t want anything too fattening- because I would eat it all…I also decided to make something in muffin form instead of a loaf for portion control.

Taking into consideration what I had in my cabinets and after searching all over the internet for a recipe- I settled on this one and modified it a bit.

For a healthy muffin- the consensus in the Lewison household is: not bad for a healthy muffin.

303

Paired with yogurt, this will make a delicious breakfast or a great, filling snack on it’s own. I recommend it for anyone who has overripe bananas in their kitchen.

305

Banana Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/3 pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup mashed bananas (2 bananas)
Directions
  1. Combine flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, soda, salt and cinnamon.
  2. In a large bowl, beat the egg lightly. Stir in the milk, pumpkin, and vanilla. Add the mashed banana, and combine thoroughly. Stir the flour mixture into the banana mixture until just combined. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper bake cups, and divide the batter among them.
  3. Bake at 400 degrees F (205 degrees C) for 18 to 20 minutes.

If you follow Weight Watchers these are 4pp each.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

