The Best Chili Ever!

 

I think the first time that I ever made chili was back in the winter of 2009. I followed one of my favorite blogger’s recipes for Chicken Chili. I made a few changes to to the recipe and I’ve made many times since. This is one of those recipes that I now have committed to memory. I decided to make it tonight because what else says June 15 besides a hot bowl of chili! Wait… it’s not October? Well I guess the cool weather, rain, and the fact that we’ve had what, 2 days of hot weather so far this spring/summer had something to do with it as well.

The other names I thought of for this post were Lazy Girl’s Chili and One Pot Chili because this recipe is both of those. It is so simple and quick to make and clean up is super easy.

Start with a chopped onion, and sauté it in a large pot with olive oil until translucent.

004

Throw in some minced garlic. I typically use about a teaspoon of it. See how the garlic is already minced for you? Perfect for a lazy chef like me!

011

Cook that up for a little bit, but not for too long because you don’t want to burn the garlic. At this point, you can add ground meat of your choice to the pot. I really like the extra lean turkey breast best. You can use ground chicken or ground beef as well.. but again, this is for us lazy chef’s because once this ground turkey is browned, there’s really no fat to drain. If you were to use ground chicken (I’ve only seen it not lean) or ground beef, you’ll have to drain it and then it just becomes too much work! So stick with the extra lean turkey!

010

Once your meat is all cooked up, add two 29 oz cans of tomato sauce, and any beans or any other mix-in’s that you prefer. I love corn in my chili! As far as the beans go, I’ll usually just throw in anything that I find in my kitchen cabinets.

013

Yes- these are mainly generic ingredients and so not organic- but they’re so cheap! Don’t judge!

Next up, the most important step- adding in the spices!

009

I never measure these out- I would guess that I put about a tablespoon of each into the pot. Maybe 2 tablespoons of the chili powder. The crushed red pepper is the best ingredient to make this chili a little spicy.

Once everything is all mixed up- the longer the pot sits on a low heat the better. It makes all of the delicious flavors come together deliciously.

Here it is in the pot… I guess chili isn’t too photogenic.

014

Maybe this one is better?

015

How about this- does it look appetizing yet?

022

The reason why this chili is named “The Best Chili Ever” and not “Lazy Girl’s Chili” is because as I was eating it tonight- I said “this is the best chili ever” about 5 times. It’s pretty darn good. I recommend trying this or a version of your own sometime soon.

024

 

The Best Chili Ever

Adapted from Iowa Girl Eat’s Chicken Chili

Ingredients:

1 TBSP Olive Oil

1 Chopped Onion (I typically use white)

1 TSP Minced Garlic

1 LB Extra Lean Ground Turkey

2 Cans Tomato Sauce- 29 oz Each

1 Can of Corn, drained

1 Can of Black Beans, drained

1 Can of Pinto Beans, drained

1 Can of Baked Beans

2 TBSP Chili Powder

1 TBSP Cayenne Pepper

1 TBSP Ground Cumin

1 TBSP Crushed Red Pepper

1. Sauté onions in a large pot in olive oil until translucent. Add in minced garlic, continue to cook for a minute or two. Add in ground turkey. Cook through on a medium heat.

2. Add tomato sauce, corn and beans, stir. Add all seasonings, stir.

3. Cook on a medium head for 20 minutes or so, turn on a low heat until ready to serve.

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Best Chili Ever!

  1. Kevin

    I loooove the changeup to some regular food stuffs too like this chili!!! Looks delicious and something that I will try out myself soon.

  2. Ahhhh love, love, LOVE this chili! I say any day, even a June summer day, is a good day to make chili! 😉

Leave a Reply

