Resolutions

Happy New Year!

 I don’t often set resolutions or stick to them when I do. This year, I have made a few that I think I can really accomplish.

On a general level, I’d like to shed a few pounds. Ever since our honeymoon I’ve had a few too many sweets and treats- and I’d really like to clean up the way that I’ve been eating. Throughout the month of January I will be blogging about some of the healthier treats that I’m cooking up in the kitchen. I’ll still post sweets- but maybe not as often during the next month.

More specifically, I’d like to try to be better about cooking dinner for myself. I am happy to cook for both Marc and I- but I’ve always had a hard time throwing together a full meal for just me. I often end up eating bowls of cereal, snacks or popcorn for dinner and I’m never satisfied.

Along with that, I’d like to try to be less wasteful with food. I’m constantly throwing away foods that I think I’ll eat, and don’t. I’m also not great at eating leftovers. Since I’ll be cooking for myself more, I’m going to make a better effort at eating everything that I cook- even if it’s over the course of few days.

 I started off the New Year by cooking a meal for one tonight. Pizza and chips!!!!

I found a a very interesting recipe online for a pizza for one. I started with the crust:

1 TBSP Whole Wheat Flour mixed with 1/3 cup Low Fat Ricotta Cheese, spread out on a baking sheet.

Looks like crust, right? Bake this for about 20 minutes at 350. Then add your toppings. I went with:

Tomato sauce

Seasonings

Green Pepper

Mushrooms

Low Fat Mozzarella Cheese

The pizza went back in the oven for 15 minutes.

Then, I worked on my chips:

Parsnip Chips! This is another idea I found online. I don’t know why it took me so long to try these out. They turned out fantastic.

I sliced up the parsnips (the thinner the better)

Coated them with a little EVOO and Sea Salt and baked them for about 20 minutes at 415 degrees.

(The pizza and the chips cooked together for a little while)

Official ruling on the pizza:

Not bad. Definately an imitator and not even close to the real thing- but really, not bad.

The crust was intersting- it almost melted in my mouth! I wouild make this again for a low-fat pizza option.

Official Ruling on the chips:

Delicious. They reminded me of Terra Chips. They were best right out of the oven.

Again, the thinner and crispier the better.

And really great served with ketchup.

What are your resolutions?

 

Full Recipes:

Pizza for One

Crust

1/3 c low fat Ricotta cheese
1 Tbsp whole wheat flour

Mix and spread on non-stick baking sheet. Makes one 6 inch crust. Turn up edges and bake 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees.

Filling
1-2 Tablespoons of Tomato Sauce
1/4 c mushrooms
1/4 c green peppers
Mozzarella cheese
Seasonings

Bake pizza crust by itself first, then add the toppings and bake an additional 15 minutes.

Parsnip Chips

Slice up a few parsnips- as thin as possible. Combine with olive oil & salt, spread on a baking sheet. Bake for about 20 minutes at 415.

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Resolutions

  1. Those parsnip chips look surprisingly good. I will have to try them.
    My new years ‘resolution’ was to share my recipes and start a blog, so here it goes…
    Happy 2011!
    JC

  2. Helene

    I’m adding parsnips to my grocery list this weekend! Sounds good! Do you really cook them at 415 degrees? That’s an unusual temperature. But I’ll try.

Leave a Reply

