Chocolate Cake Balls

Cake Balls are so in right now. They’re the new cupcake! I’ve been pretty disappointed to see that most people are making cake balls using a box of cake mix and a container of frosting. I haven’t been able to find a recipe that makes everything from scratch- so I threw my own together.

I started with a really basic chocolate cake. This was super simple. I whisked the dry ingredients together in the cake pan.

Created a well, and added in the liquid ingredients.

And whisked away until everything was combined. (This reminded me of making pasta!)

After baking for 25 minutes (the recipe said 35-40 but everything has been baking pretty quickly in our oven lately) I let the cake cool.

Mixed up some Simple Buttercream Frosting, and combined the two in a bowl.

I used an ice cream scoop to form the balls and froze them for a few hours so they’d be easier to dip. I melted chocolate almond bark- dipped the balls and added some flair.

Dipping the balls in the almond bark is not the easiest thing to do.

It’s quite messy and very frustrating.

I’ve tried using toothpicks, forks, spoons, spatulas… but there isn’t anything that seems to make this easier or less of a mess!

I will happily make these again if anyone can give me some ball dipping advice!

At least they taste delicious!

Next up… Strawberry Torte Cake Balls!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Chocolate Cake Balls

  1. Marc

    These were the best balls that you’ve made to date!!! They were better than the Oreo balls, if you can believe that.

  2. Brooke Benfield

    They look delish!!! Can’t wait for the world, or at least Chicago, to taste them as well. BAMS!!! : )

  3. Pingback: Cake Balls Part Deux « Chicago Sweets and Treats

  4. Tally

    Will they be making an apperiance at the holiday party or NYE?!?!?!

  5. Helene

    I didn’t know this was the “in” thing right now. They look delicious. I can’t wait to try them. There must be an implement for dipping. The search is on!

  6. Cake balls are the best!! I made a bunch from scratch this weekend. I have links to the cake recipe on my blog. It was the best chocolate cake ever!! Yours look pretty yummy too!!

  7. Pingback: Sweet!!! « Luv What You Do

Leave a Reply

