Cake Balls Part Deux

Dear Martha,

Next time you tell me to use 8 eggs in a cake recipe- I’m going to think twice about making that cake.

Since I was on such a Cake Ball kick this weekend, I decided to do some experimenting and come up with some interesting options. I came across Martha Stewart’s recipe for a Strawberry Torte and just knew that I could turn it into cake balls.

I must say that I do make a legendary Strawberry Torte. I haven’t made it in a few years… but I still get requests for it. Looks like I should have stuck with store bought lady fingers instead of making this egg-y cake myself.

Starting with the 8 eggs you see above, I separated the yolks and the whites. The yolks were whisked together with sugar, cake flour, baking powder and vanilla. The whites were thrown in the bowl of my mixer and turned into something that only photos can describe.

So this is how they make the omelet’s at Walker Brothers! I should have known better…

I thought I had taken photos of the finished cake and the whipped cream, but I guess not! Here are the strawberries I used:

I basically combined the cake, whipped cream, strawberries and strawberry preserves. I refrigerated it over night and formed the balls today.

I had been thinking of a new way to dip the balls to make the process easier. I started by dipping the bottoms, letting them harden, then dipping the tops.

And again… finished them off with a little flair.

I only got through seven of these balls when I had a taste… all I can say is these taste eggy! I’m going to let my taste-tester try them out tonight and I’ll decide if it’s worth it to dip the rest or not. Oh Martha… I think you failed me.

In other news, I finished making the chocolate cake balls today- using my new dipping technique.

I don’t really mind that there is a top layer and a bottom layer with a little separation in the middle.

I have to be honest (and some people know this about me) I can get into and out of phases pretty quickly- sorry Brooke, I’m over the cake ball phase! I’m going to have to move on. I think I’m going to kick it old school and go back to cookies!

Next up… I’m going to try experimenting with these treats from Trader Joe’s:

Maybe cookies? Cupcakes? Not sure yet… you’ll just have to wait and see!

And BTW- if you haven’t tried these Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups from Trader Joe’s yet… you have to get yourself some soon! They’re amazing and so much better than Reece’s Peanut Butter Cups.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Cake Balls Part Deux

  1. Rebecca

    I love your strawberry torte!! Too bad they didn’t work in cake-ball form. Good try.

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon Rolls with Pecans « Chicago Sweets and Treats

  3. Brooke Benfield

    I’ll forgive you. Everything you make looks fantastic so maybe BAMS can market something else. : ) xoxo

Leave a Reply

