Cinnamon & Nutmeg Rolls

When I first saw this recipe for Cardamom Sweet Rolls, I knew that I had to taste them. Two problems: I had no idea what Cardamom was and when I did find it at the grocery store, it was $15.00 for a small container. It wasn’t really worth the money to me. So I improvised and googled “substitute for cardamom”. I found that a combination of cinnamon and nutmeg would be a good substitute. Since I already had both in my kitchen, I decided to give the rolls a try.

I started with whole milk & yeast:

I mixed half a cup of milk with a packet of yeast:

And let the mixture sit for 5 minutes.

Into the mixer went the milk/yeast combo, cinnamon, nutmeg, butter and an egg

After everything was combined, I added the flour and salt. My mixture went from looking like this:

To this:

When everything was combined, I transfered the dough to another bowl and let it rise for 2 hours.

I rolled it out (with this fantastic rolling pin, thanks Jan!):

I loved working with this dough because it wasn’t sticky at all

After the dough was nice and flat, I covered it in butter and a cinnamon sugar mixture

Rolled it up

And sliced it

Before the rolls went into the oven, they sat for 30 minutes and I brushed an egg wash over the top

Half way there

After 20 long wonderful smelling minutes, we were finally able to sample these delicious rolls

These rolls were extremely light and not too sweet. Not exactly what you think of when you think of a cinnamon roll. They were better.  These would make a great breakfast or snack because they won’t weigh you down.

Up next… Cookies and Cream Cheesecakes… stay tuned!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cinnamon & Nutmeg Rolls

  1. Helene

    I wish I could reach into my computer screen and grab one — they look fabulous!

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon Rolls with Pecans « Chicago Sweets and Treats

Leave a Reply

