I made bread!

I read food blogs because they give me great cooking and baking ideas. I have eaten and made all kinds of meals and snacks that I never would have come up with without reading my favorite blogs. Today, I was reading Jenna’s Blog, and when I saw her recipe for Roasted Garlic Naan Bread, I was off the couch and in the kitchen pulling out the ingredients before I even finished reading the full recipe.

I’ve been wanting to make bread for quite a while now, and I’ve been very intimidated by every recipe that I’ve come across. This looked like a recipe that I could handle. And as always, Jenna gave great instructions, and tips. I knew I could do it!

I first mixed sugar, yeast and warm water together. Yes, I had yeast in my kitchen cabinet. I knew that one of these days I’d come across a recipe that I’d want to make right away!

Then, put the mixture in the the KitchenAid with half of the flour. Mixed on low for a few minutes:

Added the rest of the flour and salt, and mixed on high.

When the mixture looked like this:

I took it out and put it in a bowl that was lightly oiled.

Then I waited…

And waited…

Went to the grocery store for a head of garlic. Got home, waited more…

Until the dough had doubled in size.

In the meantime,  I also roasted my garlic. One head of garlic. Skin on. In a baking dish with oil.

30 minutes at 400 degrees

I wish you could smell this… I know I’ll be making this more often just to spread on bread. I removed the skin, and combined the garlic with butter.

I took my dough (which was extremely sticky),

split it into 4 pieces, and laid it out on a lined baking sheet in the shape of naan:

Sprinkled it with sea salt, and baked it for 10 minutes at 475 degrees:

Let it cool for 10 minutes. Then spread the roasted garlic/butter combination on top and broiled for 4 minutes.

I had really hoped for brown bubbles on my naan, but not much of that happened. Of course, that worried me.

I really shouldn’t have worried. Because as soon as I had a tasted it… I decided that spending a whole afternoon baking 4 pieces of Garlic Roasted Naan Bread was well worth it.

The naan bread wasn’t a lot of work. It just took a lot of patience.

And even though it didn’t turn out very pretty…

It did taste amazing. And that’s all that matters!

Check out this post for the full recipe. Thanks again, Jenna!!!!

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “I made bread!

  1. Marc

    I hope that you save me a piece

  2. mari

    welcome back…. looking forward to chili day..

    and Hey, is that the kitchen aide from the shower ladies? !!!!!! how very fun, you are amazing!

  3. Amy Fitzgerald

    Take that, Marie Clare! =)

  4. If this recipe didn’t have a mound of garlic, I would love it! : ) wink, wink

Leave a Reply

